JIM GLEESON TROPHY

In 2004, former British Centurions secretary and Centurion legend Freddie Baker passed onto our club an historic trophy that had been awarded to his grandfather many years previously. Fred invited us to find a use for this trophy so that it could have an ongoing life. It was decided to use it as a perpetual trophy, designated as the Farmer Trophy, to record the annual winners of the Australian 100 km Championship which were to be held for the first time that year. It was silver plated and mounted and was awarded each year to the winning man and woman in the 100 km championships.

The Farmer Trophy was completed filled once the 2017 results were added. It was then decided to decommission this perpetual trophy and replace it with a new Jim Gleeson Trophy, to be awarded to the Australian 100 km Championship winners from 2018 onwards.

The new trophy shown below was purchased in March 2018 and was engraved as follows:

JIM GLEESON TROPHY

Awarded to the winners of the annual Australian 100km Walking Championships

Named in honour of Jim Gleeson (C 3)



It was used for the first time to record the winners of the 2018 Australian 100km Championships.

Winners of this annual championship are documented as follows

2005	HAIN, Geoff	QLD	13:51:31	GREEN, Jill	GBR	13:28:55
2006	O'NEILL, Terry	VIC	13:19:08	BOLLEN, Karyn	VIC	14:02:39
2007	O'NEILL, Terry	VIC	13:08:08	BOLLEN, Karyn	VIC	14:51:40
2008	LUDWIG, Andrew	QLD	12:28:09	COX, Catherine	SA	14:32:52
2009	O'NEILL, Terry	VIC	12:44:09	MESTDAGH, Caroline	BEL	13:27:08
2010	BENNETT, Peter	QLD	12:24:43	O'NEILL, Karyn	VIC	17:56:18
2011	WALL, Mark	GBR	13:55:56	THOMPSON, Michelle	VIC	12:43:24
2012	BENNETT, Peter	QLD	12:03:41	THOMPSON, Michelle	VIC	12:09:52
2013	BENNETT, Peter	QLD	12:07:30	SCHOLZ, Sharon	VIC	13:25:36
2014	RCHARDSON, Saul	NSW	17:37:23	THOMPSON, Michelle	VIC	11:48:14
2015	KILMARTIN, John	VIC	13:03:50	THOMPSON, Michelle	VIC	11:38:04
2016	ROBERTSON, Rob	USA	14:05:11	THOMPSON, Michelle	VIC	11:36:29
2017	MAJETIC, Ivo	USA	12:06:56	PARRIS, Dawn	VIC	15:55:31

2018	SCHOLZ, Justin	VIC	12:18:45	ACHTGERBERG, Gertrude	NED	14:20:01					
2019	JANSSENS, Kim	NED	13:17:32	SCHOLZ, Sharon	VIC	13:40:50					
2020	Not Awarded										
2021	PRASAD, Pramesh	VIC	11:49:11	-							
2022	SCHOLZ, Justin	VIC	12:08:27	SCHOLZ, Sharon	VIC	13:31:12					
2023	BILLETT, David	SA	13:45:51	THOMPSON, Michelle	VIC	12:56:13					
Championship Records											
	PRASAD, Pramesh	VIC	11:49:11	THOMPSON, Michelle	VIC	11:36:29					
	TRADAD, Transcon	VIC	11.77.11	THOMI SON, WHEHER	VIC	11.50.27					